International Council for Film,Television
and Audiovisual Communication (ICFT)



John Maddison, former president of ICFT

a.d. Professeur Enrico Fulchignoni

Jean Rouch, Cineaste/Ethnologist

Hisanori Isomura,
former Director General of NHK

Inoussa Ousseini, ambassador, film director


Under the chairmanship of Professor Paul Rivet, UNESCO organized in 1955 a series of consultations to further the work of the International Institute of Educational Cinema, which is previously affiliated to the League of Nations.

On the occasion of the General Conference of UNESCO, held in New Delhi in 1958, the project of establishing an International Institute of Cinema and Television, presented by Professor Mario Verdone, Head of the Italian Delegation, is approved. The study was entrusted to Jean Benoit-Levy, filmmaker, honorary director of the United Nations Cinema, assisted a Group of twelve international experts.

The Constitutional Charter of ICFT was signed on the 23th of October 1958. The most important federations and associations working in the field of audiovisuals and media became the founding members of the ICFT.

In 1980, with the emergence of new technologies, Professor Enrico Fulchignoni, Director of Artistic and Literary Creation at UNESCO and President of the ICFT, decided to add the Audiovisual Communication to the missions of the Conseil.

Since the creation of the ICFT, the presidency has been succeeded by: John Maddison (ISFA), Jean d'Arcy (RTF-UN), Raymond Ravar (CILECT), Mario Verdone (CIDALC), Fred Orain (Production), Enrico Fulchignoni (UNESCO), G¨Śrard Bolla (UNESCO) Christopher Roads (British Library), Jean Rouch (CIFES), Daniel Van Espen (Signis), Pierpaolo Saporito (OCCAM), Jean-Michel Arnold (Camera) and Hisanori Isomura (NHK).

The ICFT is currently managed by an Executive Bureau, chaired by H.E Ambassador Inoussa Ousseini, Permanent Delegate of Niger to UNESCO, film director. Mr. Georges Dupont (ORTF-TDF-INA-UNESCO) is the Director General and Ms. Lola Poggi Goujon, former civil servant of UNESCO, is the Secretary General.

  CICT, c/o UNESCO, 1 rue Miollis,
75015 Paris, FRANCE
Tel: 0033 (0)1 45 67 28 40